Planning My 2017 Garden

P1080369.jpg

It is within the first few days of the new year and I am already starting to plan my garden(s). I am very excited, I have my photos of last years gardens printed and labeled, I have gone through my seeds to see what it is that I need and what I still have left over, and figured out what the big new additions will be in the garden this year.

P1080354.jpg

I’m not too sure where to begin with discussing my planning… Perhaps the types of things I am planning on planting first in the flower garden then in the vegetable/herb garden and a bit about the extra things I’ll be doing.

P1080348.jpg

I’m planning on starting my seeds indoors (the bulk of the flowers and things like tomatoes) at around the middle February because that is reading week and I know I won’t have time to sow them all when school is in full-time. I know it is a bit early but I have to get it done while I can.

P1080372.jpg

I am also going to do some soil replenishment and testing before I start planting. We’ve never done this and I think it will be helpful to know where we have clay soil and where the sandy soil is, also knowing the pH will be good as well. We haven’t added any new soil to the older parts of the flower garden for years and I think they need some help. We have a lot of compost and I think it will do the garden some good. Last summer we spread compost throughout the vegetable garden so it should be fine this coming year.

P1080356.jpg

Now onto the flowers, my list composes of some old and some new things. Some I have grown before but bought them as already established plants, and this year I am trying to save money by using seed. I know the big additions this year will be a rose bush and a chrysanthemum (hopefully a big one) and some rubeckia, the rest of the plants are sort of filler plants or things that will just fill the gaps, a want a gapless garden this year. So without further ado here is my list of flowers: red icing nemesia, sweetness, morning glories, zinnias, bells of Ireland, red and green nicotiana, cosmos, Livingstone daisies, nasturtiums, geraniums, petunias, portulaca, delphiniums, poppies, snapdragons, sunflowers, corn flowers, fuchsias, climbing black eyed Susans,  hollyhocks, lavender, the list may go on but that is where it stops for now. A lot of the flowers are going to be collected for natural dyes whereas others are just there for the beauty.

P1080360.jpg

Next is the vegetable garden, I put more limits on things here as I am more interested in growing things that we actually eat, like carrots. Here is the list: Cucumbers (an experiment), Peppers (another experiment), tomatoes, carrots, onions or shallots, garlic, lettuce, and perhaps courgettes. Another thing that I will grow there but isn’t an edible is loofas, growing my own intrigues me and I want to see if I can do it.

P1080364.jpg

And lastly comes the herbs, some we grow every year without a doubt and others we grow enough for a few years, but 2017 calls for: Mint, oregano, basil, sage, and rosemary. A simple but effective list.

P1080350.jpg

And as for the where of the planting. I have planned out the location for everything in the front garden because that one needs more attention in the taste section, whereas the vegetable and herb section just needs to be placed in rows with consideration for the sun.

I hope this has inspired you for your 2017 garden, do you have it all planned out yet?

Cheers and until next time!

 

Leave a Reply

