My June Garden

P6100887.jpg

Hello everyone, today I am sharing all the plants in the garden that have come into season so far in June. I would say that around this time of year our flower garden is starting to get just around its peak (I consider it full peak when the clematises are blooming, which they have not started to do so far). Both the gardens are buzzing with busy bees and we have a terrific amount of irises and oriental poppies, which make up the majority of the flower show right now. And you can check out my last post on gardening here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P6080958.jpg

I’ll start off with the flower garden. I have finally planted the majority of my seedlings (only a few sweet peas left to do)

P6100957.jpg

and have taken out more grass to put in some summer-fall perennials since after mid-July the garden tends to go down hill from there, but more on that later.

P6100913.jpg

Right now my favourite iris we have is in full bloom. It is called iris germanica “supreme sultan” and it is a bearded iris (I only know this because of some quick research otherwise it is just a big fancy iris to me). I love its dominating size, the contrasting colours and the nice family memory we have behind it.

P1070104.jpg

Around six years ago when our family went up to the cabin around the end of June and my Mom and I went up a few days before my Dad did. Instead of missing out on the irises glory Dad cut them and brought them to the cabin (which is an eight-hour drive by the way which they survived!) and surprised us with them! So we had a delightful bouquet for our stay at the cabin.

P6100904.jpg

I know this is a pretty mundane story but it is the small surprises in life that can bring a lot of joy. Back to the garden, we made a trip to the plant store a week ago and bought some perennials to help with our fall flower show.

P6100925.jpg

Although not in the line of fall flowers we did get another bearded iris, which will be pink and orange, when it blooms (which won’t be this year I am sure).

P6100927.jpg

But on the mid-summer to fall side we bought some fox glove (we will see if they survive the winter), a coral echinacea, a brown-eyed Susan, and this odd flower I had never heard of before a dwarf beebalm (which is supposed to attract humming birds. I don’t know how many hummingbirds live here… Nonetheless I am more excited about the pink flowers it will give in the fall).

P6100960.jpg

P6080966.jpg

P6080934.jpg

We also have our blue bells and columbines in bloom now. I love the bluebells and seeing the fuzzy bummed bees going from bell to bell. I love bees and their busy lives and the hum that they make is very relaxing. We have a variety of columbines in our garden from pink to purple to yellow. I enjoy their elegant spear shapes and they seem to have their own bee attraction but not quite the same as the bluebells.

P6080924.jpg

P6080893.jpg

Our big oriental poppies are in bloom right now! The pink one is the healthiest and most bountiful right now. Whereas the orange ones are doing better than they were although they are not as plentiful. And our poppies have had babies! We started off with three (two orange one pink) and now we have five!

P6100916.jpg

P6080908.jpg

P6100909.jpg

One I am quite sure is an orange poppy baby as it is right next to one of the orange ones but the other baby is unknown but I am secretly hoping it is a pink baby haha. Either way I am pleased with the little ones and I think I may move them to places where they will have more space and be able to grow.

P6110905.jpg

Speaking of poppies I think this is where I’ll jump from flower garden to vegetable garden! For the most part our back yard is pretty plain this year. I think most gardeners like to experiment and try new things to grow and see if they work or not. And for me this year that is bread seed poppies. I make myself lemon poppy-seed muffins for breakfast so if these poppies do work out I will be able to make a batch of muffins or two. And so far these poppies are doing better than the other California poppies that I planted in the front yard. So I am optimistic about this experiment.

P6110897.jpg

This year my main goal for the vegetable garden is to actually get usable crops. In past years we just plant one row or one plant of each thing (except for the tomatoes which we usually plant 3-4 of) and generally not use the entirety of what we grow. This year I said that I would only grown what we would actually eat and lots of those plants. So no beets this year (sorry Mom). But that meant more tomatoes and carrots and herbs and a few dye/fibre plants that I snuck in there for my own selfish purposes.

P6100881.jpg

I planted a small crop of flax (2 rows) because I have a vision to make linen… I will do a post on that when the time comes (aka sometime after I harvest the flax). I also planted two rows of hollyhocks. I planted a mix of pink and black ones. I read in a natural dye book that the black ones give you a turquoise bleu colour. And I am not one to give up the opportunity of bleu! Then I planted sunflowers that are a mix of red and yellow ones. And again I planted these because I have seen a possibility of bleu dye from the red ones and a possibility of green from the yellow ones! I also planted these dye flowers because I do genuinely like them.

P6100937.jpg

Well that is all for today, until next time.

Adieu!

P6080922.jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P6080969.jpg

P6100910.jpg

P6080963.jpg

P6110896.jpg

Leave a Reply

