My Garden

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hello everyone, this year I have been working extra hard on the gardens. We have two gardens, the one in the front yard is our flower garden and the one in the backyard is our vegetable and herb garden. I won’t dwell on the vegetable garden as there is very little dye potential there… More cooking potential which will be of more interest to me at harvest time.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Last year I spent most of my time clearing out over grown plants in the front. Our irises were growing on top of flax which was growing on top of creeping thyme which was growing on top of tulips… See what I mean?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So at the end of the season last year we had lots of cleared up spaces and replanted iris and tulip bulbs for this year (2016) and I had a list of plants and things to try as well to improve the garden. Like planting basil in pots, sweet peas by the lilac, etc. People have asked me if I am planting known dye plants for a “dye garden”? And my answer is no. I live in a place where most of those plants would not grow (I’m in a zone 3 for planting) and we have such a short growing season generally I just want to grow flowers that make me happy are colourful, and that we already had. Also I think it is more interesting to experiment with flowers and plants that are not known for dyeing, it keeps you on your toes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So this year spring came early and I didn’t get a change to clean out the garden before school ended. But as soon as school was out I was ready to clean and plant. After I cleared away the dead leaves I started some seeds inside.

The past year I have accumulated a lot of seeds. And of course if the seeds were flower seeds I was only thinking about the dye potential. So I was looking for bright or deep colours. But at the same time I was thinking about if they were late summer – early fall flowers as the garden is lacking in that area.

Pic 1.jpg

(Can I just take a moment to show off the tin I store my seeds in? It used to be a chocolate box and I love it!)

So on April 30th this year I started a bunch of seeds (sweet peas, asters, lupins, calendula, poppies, lettuce, basil, and bergamot). I’m surprised at how well the lupins took off (we have never grown them before):

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The others are making their way slowly but surely. I had to replant some of the sweet peas as some of the seeds went missing from their containers (I put them out on the lawn during a sunny day for maximum sun exposure along with my succulents and I believe that during that time some furry friends decided to dig for a snack).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We also bought some plants from the store to plant, like dahlias (last year I tried them from seed with no success whatsoever) and petunias. I hope that all will result in some fabulous dyes. Anyways enough of my words here are some pictures of the garden.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Miniature grain elevators that I made and now have set up as a tableau under the lilac)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

P5250954.jpg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Vibrant gentian)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hope you enjoyed the photos, Adieu!

 

 

 

1 thought on “My Garden”

Leave a Reply

