Prior to fibres

IMG_0021I cannot believe that there are roughly two weeks left of school before summer holiday starts!!! This will be the first time since I was four that I will have more than two months off and out of school. A bit of a weird and twisted thought if you think about it. And makes me question this extensive institutionalization.

Moving on, today I am sharing some of my work before I really got into fibres. I thought that it might be interesting to document where my art practice was for my own reference as my portfolio is ever-changing. Always adding and taking something out. Something that you were once proud of and wanted to share with people becomes something that you keep only  for your own viewing and validation.

A big thing that I enjoyed doing (and still do even though I do not have much time for now) was doing copies of backgrounds from Studio Ghibli films. I do mine on stretched watercolour paper and with my precious water-colour paints. This was how I initially thought that the background paintings were done. However through my own research and watching the recent documentary released on Studio Ghibli (I recommend it highly, it is very whimsical and sincere); I discovered that the paper was not stretched (only wetted) and done with poster paint. When I found this out I went and purchased my own poster paint but I did not change my method of doing these paintings as I was too attached to the method that I had crafted.

Enough of my babbling… Here are some pictures of these watercolours. I am posting them in sequential order that they were done in to document my progress.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(The bakery from Kiki’s Delivery Service)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(House covered in vines from Kiki’s Delivery Service)

Scan 1

(Vine Garden cottage from Howl’s Moving Castle)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Cat castle from The Cat Returns)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Shrine from My Neighbour Totoro)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Bathhouse from Spirited Away)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Street shops from Kiki’s Delivery Service)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Garden Pagoda from Porco Rosso)

Scan

(Rock garden from The Wind Rises)

I feel that these paintings really have helped me learn a lot about detail and you can see the major progression I made after the third painting (I learned a lot from that one). I get the original images from the Art of Studio Ghibli books (I own quite a few of them now), each film has its own designated Art of… book, that includes fabulous prints. And currently I am working on another one of these paintings as  I really enjoy doing them and they are a major relief of stress for me.

As for the poster paints I mentioned earlier I have not found a real use for them yet but I am planning on some major experimentation during the summer (yet another one of my crazy plans and we will see which ones I actually carry out… Maybe this blog will make me accountable for my plans…) Anyways last summer I did these small copies of rough sketches for sea planes from Porco Rosso. Here are some:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here are some other pieces that I have done more recently and sort of a midst of discovering my passion of fibres:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 16. Brush Roll

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

